Swagger Configuration

Hello, Im trying to build an app in which I want the user to get some information after he press a Buttom. This information would come from an API , the problem that i have is that ther are 4 functions the GET, PUT ,POST and DELETE, Which one or more should I use to achieve my goal?. Im using the PetStore swagger example, but that example does not contain data base, I think it has the structure only.

Im not a developer so Im not that use to the terminology yet, thanks for any help!

Hi @gns_diego, you can do a simple google on rest api methods and you will get detailed info on this but here is a very short summary on the different methods.

So assuming you have a database table. Then these are the functions of the various methods.

GET : For retrieving a row from your table.
PUT : For replacing a row in your table.
PATCH : For modifying some values of a row in your table.
DELETE : For removing a row in your table.

So to answer your question, you will need to use GET to retrieve information from your table when the button is pressed.

Really helpful I will do the research, this post just let me go throught the proccess quicker.

On the other hand, I see that I can update information to my table, I have a table that is already with the info I need, what I need to do is to put this table or information to my swagger right?

I have the swagger editor example that is : http://editor.swagger.io/#/

Can you tell me how to put my table in here?, which format do I need or which proccess do I need to go throught?, thanks again

Hi @gns_diego,
From these questions i think you’re very new to this whole thing.
So again i will suggest you do some background reading to get a better understanding before diving in.
I will try to point you in some directions on what to read.

First of all you don’t put and table in the swagger. I will explain briefly below.